top of page
Writer's picturePoems and Pearls

How Minimalism Helps Me

minimalism: living intentionally with less



What is minimalism?


Well, it was originally an artistic style having emerged in the 1960s, notably in NYC. The style is characterized by extreme simplicity.


Nowadays, it has become a way of life that many go by in order to find peace in more meaningful and less stressful lives. Tell me you don’t want a less stressful life.


Why I went all in


I was originally very skeptical about minimalism, wondering :


"What am I gonna live with?"

"Huh, huh! I love my shoes!"


I saw it as just another movement or trend that would soon fade away. I eventually decided to give it a shot because I was BROKE. And well, Minimalism appeared as a great opportunity for BROKE people like me. Why? Because I didn’t feel ashamed nor embarrassed by my "broke-ness" anymore. It actually started appearing as a good thing.



1. IT HELPS ME SAVE MONEY


Bye, consumer society. Minimalism helped me uncover the traps and lies used and told by brands in order for them to get you to buy (i.e spend your money) their (sometimes, so unnecessary) products. I have realized there are so many things being presented to us that we absolutely DO NOT need.



2. IT HELPS ME SAVE TIME


It does. Minimalism is not just about money. Cleaning up, clearing up and decluttering your space is such a good remedy for the soul. It helps you stay organized, focused and undistracted while providing a sense of freshness and productivity; like what you’re doing is relevant. As there are many things we do not need to buy, there are also numerous things we do not need to do. I’ll let you think about it.



3. IT HELPS ME FOCUS ON THE RIGHT THINGS


The philosophy of minimalism was eye-opening for me. Nowadays, humans are so focused on material things. Success is pictured as a big house and a nice car. To each his own.

But to me success looks more like satisfaction in who I am, love in my relationships and compassion for others. While some things are necessary, of course, it may be important to remember that we will not take them with us. What should really matter is our relationship with God and our love for others. Things are good as long as they are kept in their rightful place.



4. IT HELPS ME TO BE MORE GENEROUS


Once we’ve accumulated many stuff, whether it be clothes, furniture, and so on, we give it to others. Because we are so not focused on getting more and more and building ephemeral collections, we let it go knowing that somebody else may need it.It all comes down to this: sharing what we have because at some point we needed it.


Now may be the time for you to declutter that wardrobe of yours, your entire home or simply your phone.

Take the first step and you’ll realize that you can make minimalism yours, your minimalism. Your very own minimalism. Nevertheless, whether it be mine or your minimalism, they will all serve a great purpose, that is helping us leave more conscious, meaningful and less polluted lives.


So even though I have defined minimalism as a manner of living with less, it is without a doubt a way of living with so much more.


And remember, if you’re broke, that is definitely the way to go!


Thx

Love y'all,

💋


References :


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page